Lifestyle · Surf Photography · Water Sports

Hermine September Swell 2016, Cape Hatteras National Seashore

September 6, 2016 after the first intense storm of the season hit Cape Hatteras National Seashore, Tropical Storm Hermine.  Hermine brought waves to the local surf culture. I am not a born and raised local. Although, I have been on the island for almost ten years seasonally, and almost two years full time. It took me years to get up the courage to start photographing the local surf culture at the Old Lighthouse Beach and the Cape Hatteras Motels.

In a predominately male field of surfers and surf photographers, I was and still am a little intimidated to pull out my pro camera and start shooting all the local surfers. One day I hope to work up the courage to get in the water with my camera and aquatech housing to get some inside barrel shots!

When you are a photographer at heart everything you look at turns to a frame in your mind. I have always enjoyed watching the locals defy gravity in their element, which ultimately lead to my interest in surf photography.  I was fortunate enough to have the day off during the Hermine swell and was able to spend a few hours capturing some amazing local surfers doing what they love.  Some of the locals photographed below include, Brett Barley, Benny Crum, Joey Crum, Wolfgang Blackwood, Ayden Damitio, Roy Heverly, Pat O’Neal and Michael Karayiannis.

I am blessed to be able to capture such unique moments in time. Please scroll down for a few epic frames of the local surf culture on Cape Hatteras National Seashore during the Hermine Swell.

Leave a Reply

