My Life · Underwater

Step into liquid with Aqua Tech Imaging Solutions

Since I can remember I have pretended to be a mermaid in some body of water. I swam for many years throughout school on indoor and outdoor swim teams and teaching swim lessons.  Working as a lifeguard for many years at the local indoor YMCA and managing summer outdoor pools in Carroll County, MD.  From the moment I started my photography career over 9 years ago, I have been trying to find a way to step into liquid with my camera to capture the under water world.  I have purchased many low grade, point and shoot water cameras.  Including the first Go Pro that came out. I struggled with finding a camera that would not fog or build condensation in the lens and view finder. As well as, wanting  complete control of my images, verses a non DSLR camera in the water. I also had a hard time convincing myself to purchase the Aqua Tech Imaging Solutions housing to place my extremely expensive professional camera and lens purposefully into the unpredictable Atlantic Ocean.

Last summer I finally stepped into liquid with my Nikon D800 with the help of Aqua Tech Imaging Solutions water housing and lens port. It was not the easiest thing to jump in the Atlantic with over $6K of equipment and trusting the ever so sturdy and well known and reliable Aqua Tech design. Used by even the most famous surf/ocean photographers such as Clark Little. Making the mistake to not double check the O ring seal, caused me to see what it was like to slowly start flooding my housing out while submerged in the ocean. I quickly ran to shore and dried out my camera and housing back home.  It was not easy getting used to the limitations your camera has once in the ocean, securely placed and sealed in the water housing. You also need to evaluate and predict lighting and such as to set your ISO and white balance accordingly, prior to placing your camera in the housing. Check out their site for more information on water housings and accessories https://aquatech.net/.

I also realized after many trials and tribulations, the importance of a clean lens and lens port. The lighting and reflections of the water while shooting through the housing seems to show more dirt or water marks then I had imagined. Also while shooting in the water, I had to train my finger to the pistol grip trigger instead of the shutter button on top of the camera.

Each lens has it’s own lens port specially designed by Aqua Tech Imaging Solutions. The image below with a circle of vignetting around the ocean, was taken with the wrong lens in the Aqua Tech lens port. I grabbed the wrong wide angle lens and showed up ready to shoot at the beach before I had a chance to notice. All a part of the learning curve from land to water photography. Forever evolving.

Nick Coffman is a good friend of mine whom I have had many fun photo adventures with. He is photographed in an image below using his Go Pro camera. He also took the neat photos of me underwater with my Aqua Tech housing, below (top). It is a neat feeling when you can jump into a body of water with your camera and a friend and have some fun.

My daughter Emma is a fish as well. We share the same love for the ocean and swimming. It has been a ton of fun learning how to use my housing in the water with her. I have decided to offer water sessions this year to my packages! There is a whole world under the sea and I am looking forward to capturing more creatures in the ocean and fun family sessions this summer! Traveling to the OBX or Hatteras Island this year, why not step into liquid for a family fun water session!  Contact me for more details on booking a water family session!

Thanks for viewing my blog post, please know I am not the best writer, my best story is told through my images. Please scroll down to check out a few frames of my trials and tribulations and my wannabe mermaid skills.

 

Leave a Reply

