OBX Events

Outer Banks North Carolina and Hatteras Island from above the coast. OBX aerial sunrise tour.

I have always wanted to photograph Hatteras Island and the Outer Banks of North Carolina, from a birds eye view. Thanks to OBX Airplanes LLC, I was finally able to photograph some landmarks on the island this past Saturday, March 5, 2016. I was fortunate enough to bring my daughter Emma along for the experience as well. We had the pleasure of flying with Jenny Hawk, a 10 year pilot. photographed in the frames below. I highly recommend anyone visiting the Outer Banks of North Carolina to take an aerial tour!

Check out their website at the following link: http://www.obxairplanes.com/

I prepared for the trip well. Bringing three cameras with three different lenses. I knew it would be difficult to change lenses in the plane and I also wanted to get the most shots in during my session without taking time to change my lenses. Using 32 GB cards in both card slots in all three camera’s! As to be able to shoot as many photos as possible in the time I was in the air.  I did not know what to expect as a first timer photographing from an airplane, above the coast, under the clouds! The sun rising underneath of the plane brought new lighting techniques into play. I also recommend anyone who has the opportunity to fly above the coast with a camera, to open the airplane window before shooting. The window will add unwanted glare and change the color balance of  your images.

Another challenge I found while photographing above the coast, was avoiding the airplane wing in my images. Depending on where I was seated in the plane, front or back seat. As well as which lens I was using, the wings of the plane definitely gave me a challenge.  We landed in Frisco half way through the trip. Sitting in the back seat south down the coast,  I decided to try the front seat on the way back up the coast. I recommend both seats really, so you can attempt to get a variety of perspectives!

Not realizing I would get motion sickness while trying to look through my view finder, out the plane window, and down the coast.  Within 10 minutes of our flight I was nauseous! Our pilot, Jenny Hawk was wonderful. She started to turn around and asked if I was ready to head back, since I was already sick. As I waived her on as I was unable to speak as I was loosing my coffee.  She kept going south down the coast! I asked her to please let me know when the landmarks I requested would come up. I would lay with my head back and eyes closed anxiously awaiting the next landmark!  I would then pick up one of my cameras then the other two to capture the landmark! As she would circle each landmark once or twice! She even landed in Frisco at Billy Mitchell’s Airport, so I could get some relief for a few minutes!

Next time I will be sticking a motion sickness patch on for sure! I did not get as many wonderful images as I had hoped due to being ill the entire time. I still had a fabulous time watching the sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean and will definitely be going back up again soon!

Please scroll below to see a few frames of our trip above the coast! You can really see how fragile the island truly is.

March 5, 2016, OBX Airplanes, OBX, Entertainement, Aerial Tour, Above the Coast, Epic Shutter Photography, OBX Photgorapher, Hatteras Island, Hatteras Island Photographers, Outer Banks, Cape Hatteras National Seashore, Photographer

March 5, 2016, OBX Airplanes, OBX, Entertainement, Aerial Tour, Above the Coast, Epic Shutter Photography, OBX Photgorapher, Hatteras Island, Hatteras Island Photographers, Outer Banks, Cape Hatteras National Seashore, Photographer

March 5, 2016, OBX Airplanes, OBX, Entertainement, Aerial Tour, Above the Coast, Epic Shutter Photography, OBX Photgorapher, Hatteras Island, Hatteras Island Photographers, Outer Banks, Cape Hatteras National Seashore, Photographer

March 5, 2016, OBX Airplanes, OBX, Entertainement, Aerial Tour, Above the Coast, Epic Shutter Photography, OBX Photgorapher, Hatteras Island, Hatteras Island Photographers, Outer Banks, Cape Hatteras National Seashore, Photographer

March 5, 2016, OBX Airplanes, OBX, Entertainement, Aerial Tour, Above the Coast, Epic Shutter Photography, OBX Photgorapher, Hatteras Island, Hatteras Island Photographers, Outer Banks, Cape Hatteras National Seashore, Photographer

March 5, 2016, OBX Airplanes, OBX, Entertainement, Aerial Tour, Above the Coast, Epic Shutter Photography, OBX Photgorapher, Hatteras Island, Hatteras Island Photographers, Outer Banks, Cape Hatteras National Seashore, Photographer

March 5, 2016, OBX Airplanes, OBX, Entertainement, Aerial Tour, Above the Coast, Epic Shutter Photography, OBX Photgorapher, Hatteras Island, Hatteras Island Photographers, Outer Banks, Cape Hatteras National Seashore, Photographer

March 5, 2016, OBX Airplanes, OBX, Entertainement, Aerial Tour, Above the Coast, Epic Shutter Photography, OBX Photgorapher, Hatteras Island, Hatteras Island Photographers, Outer Banks, Cape Hatteras National Seashore, Photographer

March 5, 2016, OBX Airplanes, OBX, Entertainement, Aerial Tour, Above the Coast, Epic Shutter Photography, OBX Photgorapher, Hatteras Island, Hatteras Island Photographers, Outer Banks, Cape Hatteras National Seashore, Photographer

March 5, 2016, OBX Airplanes, OBX, Entertainement, Aerial Tour, Above the Coast, Epic Shutter Photography, OBX Photgorapher, Hatteras Island, Hatteras Island Photographers, Outer Banks, Cape Hatteras National Seashore, Photographer

March 5, 2016, OBX Airplanes, OBX, Entertainement, Aerial Tour, Above the Coast, Epic Shutter Photography, OBX Photgorapher, Hatteras Island, Hatteras Island Photographers, Outer Banks, Cape Hatteras National Seashore, Photographer

March 5, 2016, OBX Airplanes, OBX, Entertainement, Aerial Tour, Above the Coast, Epic Shutter Photography, OBX Photgorapher, Hatteras Island, Hatteras Island Photographers, Outer Banks, Cape Hatteras National Seashore, Photographer

March 5, 2016, OBX Airplanes, OBX, Entertainement, Aerial Tour, Above the Coast, Epic Shutter Photography, OBX Photgorapher, Hatteras Island, Hatteras Island Photographers, Outer Banks, Cape Hatteras National Seashore, Photographer

March 5, 2016, OBX Airplanes, OBX, Entertainement, Aerial Tour, Above the Coast, Epic Shutter Photography, OBX Photgorapher, Hatteras Island, Hatteras Island Photographers, Outer Banks, Cape Hatteras National Seashore, Photographer

March 5, 2016, OBX Airplanes, OBX, Entertainement, Aerial Tour, Above the Coast, Epic Shutter Photography, OBX Photgorapher, Hatteras Island, Hatteras Island Photographers, Outer Banks, Cape Hatteras National Seashore, Photographer

March 5, 2016, OBX Airplanes, OBX, Entertainement, Aerial Tour, Above the Coast, Epic Shutter Photography, OBX Photgorapher, Hatteras Island, Hatteras Island Photographers, Outer Banks, Cape Hatteras National Seashore, Photographer

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

